streamline hotel retro scrh 1

Where it All Began

By early 1947 Bill France saw the potential for a unified series of racing competitors. France announced the foundation of the "National Championship Stock Car Series", otherwise known as NCSSC.  France also staged events under the Stock Car Auto Racing Society, but the acronym spelled SCARS and that idea was quickly put to rest.
France approached the American Automobile Association, or AAA, in hopes of obtaining financial backing for the venture. When the AAA declined support of the venture, France proceeded to announce a set of rules and awards for the NCSSC.  France declared that the winner of the 1947 NCSSC season would receive $1,000.00, and a trophy.
The season would begin in January 1947 at the Daytona Beach track, and conclude in Jacksonville the following December.  Nearly 40 events were logged during the season, and attendance often exceeded the venue's capacity.
The competitors were paid as promised, and by the end of the season, driver Fonty Flock was declared the season champion after winning 7 events of the 24 that he entered.  Bill France delivered the $1000 and 4 foot high trophy to Flock at the end of the season, along with $3000 in prize money to other drivers who competed throughout the season.

Streamline Hotel 75 On December 14, 1947, at the Streamline Hotel on highway A1A in Daytona Beach, Florida, a group of thirty-five men laid the foundation for a racing series to promote and govern the sport of Stock Car Racing.
Red Byron, the winner of the first official NASCAR race, wanted to call it the National Stock Car Racing Association (NSCRA). Red Vogt, a top NASCAR mechanic, suggested National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). Then, someone at the meeting pointed out that there was already an association in Georgia with the NSCRA name, so Ed Bruce moved to disregard the first name and incorporate , in Florida, under the name National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing. Jack Peters seconded, and it became the official name of the new organization.
France was elected President of NASCAR with E.G. "Cannonball" Baker of Indianapolis as National Commissioner, Eddie Bland of Jacksonville was the new Vice-president; Bill Tuthill of Hartford, Secretary; and race driver Marshall Teague, Treasurer.
"The purpose of this association is to unite all stock car racing under one set of rules; to set up a benevolent fund and a national point standing system whereby only one stock car driver will be crowned national champion," declared France.
"Every track and every area has a 'national champion' of every type of racing. This has so confused the sports writers that they give up in disgust after trying to give the public an accurate picture."
Louis Jerome "Red" Vogt, renowned mechanic from Atlanta and one of those attending the meeting, has generally been given credit for coming up with the name for the new organization; and on February 21, 1948, the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing was incorporated.

Stock Car Racing History is not owned, affiliated or
sanctioned by NASCAR (National Association for Stock
Car Auto Racing). The NASCAR logo and driver images
are owned and copyright of NASCAR, respective NASCAR
teams and owners.